27.2 C
Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Qatar’s amir finalises Shura Council appointments


Two women were appointed to complete the legislative body

Qatar’s Amir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani appointed the remaining 15 Shura Council members on Thursday under Amiri Decision No. 56 of 2021, completing the country’s legislative body. The decision will be effective once it is gazetted.

The amir also issued Decree No. (48) of 2021, inviting the Shura Council to hold its first ordinary session on 26 October.

According to the list released by the Qatar News Agency [QNA], the final Shura Council will include two women.

The decision was made almost two weeks after eligible citizens voted in 30 members of the Shura Council in the country’s first-ever judicial body.

The Shura Council, consisting of 45 members, has now been concluded. Thirty were elected, and 15 now appointed. Two hundred thirty-three candidates across 30 districts ran in which there was a high voter turnout (63.5%).

The remaining members include:

On Sunday, the amir appointed Ahmed Nasser Ibrahim Al-Fadala as the Shura Council’s secretary-general, replacing his predecessor Fahad bin Mubarak Al Khayareen.

The Shura Council was established in 1972 during the time of Sheikh Khalifa Bin Hamad Al-Thani, who was tasked under the amended Provisional Constitution to organise the structure and institutions of the modern Gulf state.

Follow Doha News on TwitterInstagram, Facebook and Youtube

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

- Advertisment -

Most Read

Subscribe to Doha News below!

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.